Federation of Ontario Public Libraries

Librarians face increasing violence on the job, Toronto Public Library figures show

Part of the problem is fewer staff at the branches, librarians’ union says

https://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/toronto/toronto-library-violence-1.5447553

 

Active Shooter Training for Library Employees

With Dr. Steve Albrecht. A 90-minute workshop.

Thursday, February 27, 2020

2:30 pm Eastern | 1:30 pm Central | 12:30 pm Mountain | 11:30 am Pacific
Cases of workplace violence involving armed perpetrators at libraries are both rare and catastrophic. Not all subjects have used guns in these attacks; edged weapons are a concern as well. Recent attacks in Sacramento, CA; Framingham, MA; and Clovis, NM have heightened the awareness of the need for library employees to follow the national Department of Homeland Security (DHS) protocol: Run – Hide – Fight. Since all employees are in charge of their own sense of security, they need to know what to do, what not to do, and how to protect themselves and others during these life-changing events. Dr. Albrecht uses empowerment over fear to make you feel comfortable about an uncomfortable subject like this one (e.g. no explicit videos or frightening stories).
Learn more
Active Shooter Training for Library Employees
You Might Also Be Interested In . . .
Library Security: Better Communication, Safer Facilities

In this book, Steve Albrecht addresses security issues important to all libraries.

Learn more
ALA Essentials for Library Workers

ALA Essentials for Library Workers is a series of prerecorded training and informational sessions in areas that can help both onboard new employees and provide important refreshers for current staff.

Learn more