Via Ottawa Public Library:

 M. Ernest Coté was an OPL board member from 1977 – 1987; he was Chair of the board in 1981 and 1982, and again in 1986 and 1987 and was well regarded. In fact in the board meeting of January 19, 1988 states  “On behalf of the Board, Dr. Colvin expressed her thanks and gratefulness to Mr. E.A. Coté for the remarkable leadership and steadfastness displayed over the year he was involved with the OPL Board and  that he would  be presented with an award at the Ottawa City Hall on February 3 at 2:30 p.m. in recognition of his exemplary leadership while on the Board of the Ottawa Public Library and of a life devoted to community services”
·         He was a co-founder of the Friends of the Ottawa Public Library
·         He co-created the Friends of the Library Trust Fund with the Honorable Mitchell Sharp.
·         In recognition of FOPLA’s 25th anniversary in 2006, Mr. Côté co-created the Friends of the Ottawa Public Library Scholarship along with FOPLA, providing a generous donation to establish the fund. This scholarship was created to benefit students of the Information Studies program at the University of Ottawa.  This scholarship supports future librarians from the National Capital Region to receive funding support on a yearly basis.
Ottawa Sun: