MONDAY, JUNE 15, 2020. 1:12 PM EDT

Ford says restaurants and services in Durham, York, Niagara, Halton, Hamilton, Sarnia, and Haldimand-Norfolk can reopen this Friday. Toronto, Peel and Windsor have to wait.

1:04 p.m. All regions of Ontario except for Toronto, Peel and Windsor-Essex will be in Stage 2 of the province’s phased reopening plan as of Friday.

Most areas of the province were allowed to enter the second stage last Friday, except for the Greater Toronto and Hamilton Area, some regions that border the United States and those with COVID-19 outbreaks among migrant workers.

Premier Doug Ford announced today that the regions that can join them this Friday are: Durham, Haldimand-Norfolk, Halton, Hamilton, Lambton, Niagara and York.

1:00 p.m. Premier Doug Ford will give an update on Ontario’s COVID-19 reopening plans at 1 p.m. A livestream of the news conference is available on