Every other year, the CanadianFederation of Library Associations / Fédération canadienne des associations de bibliothèques  and ExLibris Association invite Canadian libraries to be considered for the W. Kaye Lamb Award.

The award is given to that library which offers innovative and excellent service to their senior population. A list of past winners can be viewed here.

Named to commemorate Canada’s first National Librarian, William Kaye Lamb, OC, FRSC, the W. Kaye Lamb Award recognizes outstanding library service to seniors with a $500.00 cash prize and commemorative plaque.   For more information on William K. Lamb’s contribution to the development of Canadian library services, visit the Biography page of the ExLibris Association’s website.

Purpose of the Award

This award recognizes a library that has developed an ongoing service, program or procedure of benefit to seniors and/or a design and organization of buildings or facilities that improve access and encourage use by seniors. The award will be presented biennially (every two years) when merited.


Any Canadian public, government, postsecondary or special library is eligible for this award.

Application Procedure

Please provide:

  1. Name of the library.
  2. A statement of the service or facility of benefit to the senior population served by the library.
  3. Descriptive material such as photographs, promotional or advertising materials used, articles or news items published may be included with the application to indicate the ongoing success of the project.
  4. The application might include architectural drawings, details of the equipment used and an outline of the effect on staffing and budget.
  5. Name of a contact person, position title and contact details (email, telephone, etc).

Application Deadline

Completed applications must be submitted by Monday, October 2, 2023.  Use the subject line “W. Kaye Lamb Award Application 2023,” including your library’s name or acronym to: WKLAward@cfla-fcab.ca

Use the above email to request further information about the award or application process, adding “inquiry” to the subject line.

Award Selection and Presentation

A board committee of ExLibris will review the submissions and make a recommendation to the executives of both organizations. Announcement of the award winner will be communicated widely via social media, each sponsor’s website and, where possible, at the winning library’s regional library association.

Sponsored by the Ex Libris Association and the Canadian Federation of Library Association/Fédération canadienne des associations de bibliothèques