The Ontario Library Association Announces 2015 Award Recipients
Association recognizes contribution and achievement in Ontario’s libraries

The Ontario Library Association (OLA) is thrilled to recognize several individuals and organizations that have greatly contributed to Ontario’s libraries. From library advocacy to program development, the recipients of OLA’s 2015 awards have supported school, academic and public libraries with outstanding innovation in their communities.

Awards will be presented to recipients during the annual OLA Super Conference, held from Jan. 27 to 30, 2016.

The award winners are:

L’Association des bibliothèques de l’Ontario-Franco (ABO-Franco) Le Prix Micheline Persaud Joanne Plante, Conseil Des Écoles Catholiques Du Centre-Est
Ontario Library Association Larry Moore Distinguished Service Award Joyce Cunningham, Fort Frances, ON
Ontario Library Association Media and Communications Award 100.9 Canoe FM, Haliburton, ON
Ontario Library Association Technical Services Award Lisa Radha Weaver, Library Learning Resources, Tippett Centre, Toronto District School Board
Ontario Library Association Les Fowlie Intellectual Freedom Award Dorothy Macnaughton
Ontario College and University Library Association (OCULA) Lifetime Achievement Award Karen McGrath, Niagara College
Ontario College and University Library Association (OCULA) Award for Special Achievement Colin Clarke, Canadian Centre for Epigraphic Documents
W.J. Robertson Medallion (Public Librarian of the Year) Rebecca Jones, Brampton Library
Joyce Cunningham Award (Public Library Board of the Year) Windsor Public Library Board
Ontario Library Information Technology Association (OLITA) Project Award Kitchener Public Library for “Borrow the Internet” wi-fi hotspot lending Program
James Bain Medallion (PL Board Member of the Year): Gary Price, Cambridge Public Library Board / Idea Exchange
Ontario Public Library Association (OPLA) Lifetime Achievement Award Rod Sawyer, Ministry of Tourism, Culture and Sport
Ontario School Library Association (OSLA) Administrator of the Year Award Lynn Wisniewski, Halton District School Board
Ontario School Library Association (OSLA) Award for Special Achievement Treasure Mountain Canada
Ontario School Library Association (OSLA) Teacher Librarian of the Year Dawn Telfer, Thames Valley District School Board

Congratulations to all OLA award recipients, from your friends at FOPL

More information on awards is available at