The Honourable Sylvia Jones (MPP, Dufferin-Caledon) becomes Minister of Tourism, Culture and Sport and Nancy Matthews becomes Deputy Minister of Tourism, Culture and Sport. Please see the memo below from Secretary Orsini on the appointment of Deputy Ministers.

June 29, 2018

MEMORANDUM TO:          Deputy Ministers

SUBJECT:                           Deputy Minister Appointments

Earlier today, the Premier of Ontario, the Honourable Doug Ford, announced his Cabinet.

I am announcing a number of deputy minister appointments that will enhance our ability to deliver on the government’s agenda in the most efficient and effective way possible. Unless otherwise noted, all of these appointments are effective today so that deputy ministers can immediately begin to work with their new ministers.


Helen Angus becomes Deputy Minister of Health and Long-Term Care. This ministry will now also be responsible for youth mental health.

Lynn Betzner continues as Associate Secretary of the Cabinet; Deputy Minister, Communications, Cabinet Office; and Deputy Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs. Lynn will work closely with the new government in supporting its communication efforts and will assume lead responsibility for

Sam Erry remains Deputy Minister of Correctional Services and will assume responsibility for the Anti-Racism Directorate.

Marie-Lison Fougère becomes Deputy Minister for Seniors and Accessibility and Deputy Minister Responsible for Francophone Affairs.

Kevin French becomes Deputy Minister of Government Services, reporting to the Minister of Government and Consumer Services. This ministry will also have responsibility for Information Technology operations and government real estate.

Giles Gherson becomes Deputy Minister, Red Tape and Regulatory Burden Reduction, Cabinet Office, to lead one the Premier’s top priorities: to help make Ontario more competitive and open for business.

Hillary Hartley becomes Deputy Minister of Consumer Services, reporting to the Minister of Government and Consumer Services, and will be responsible for ServiceOntario and  Open Government. As Chief Digital Officer, she will continue to lead the Ontario Digital Service. Hillary will also lead the development of consumer service guarantees and a new centre of excellence on design thinking and lean methodologies. She will be initiating an internal competition for an assistant deputy minister to head the centre.

Serge Imbrogno becomes Deputy Minister of the Environment, Conservation and Parks.  This ministry will be assigned responsibility for provincial parks, Conservation Authorities and species-at-risk legislation.

Nancy Kennedy becomes Deputy Minister, Treasury Board Secretariat and Secretary of Treasury Board and Management Board of Cabinet. The Inclusive Diversity Office within Cabinet Office will move to the renamed Public Service Commission (formerly known as the Centre for Leadership and Learning) within the Treasury Board Secretariat.

David de Launay continues as Deputy Minister of Northern Development and Mines, reporting to the Minister of Energy, Northern Development and Mines.

Laurie LeBlanc becomes Deputy Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing, reporting to the Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing.

Nancy Matthews becomes Deputy Minister of Tourism, Culture and Sport. Nancy will play a leadership role in enhancing youth engagement in sports and recreation. This ministry will now also be responsible for honours and awards.

Janet Menard becomes Deputy Minister of Children, Community and Social Services. This ministry will join together the functions from community and social services and children and youth portfolios, including youth justice. In addition, the ministry will be responsible for citizenship and immigration policy, including newcomer and refugee resettlement. Janet also becomes Deputy Minister Responsible for Women’s Issues.

Greg Orencsak becomes Deputy Minister of Finance.

Shirley Phillips becomes Deputy Minister of Economic Development, Job Creation and Trade. This ministry brings together the economic development and trade portfolios, and will now also be responsible for the Ontario Immigrant Nominee Program.

Stephen Rhodes becomes Deputy Minister of Energy, reporting to the Minister of Energy, Northern Development and Mines.

Deborah Richardson becomes Deputy Minister of Indigenous Affairs, reporting to the Minister of Indigenous Affairs.

Scott Thompson becomes Deputy Minister of Transportation and Deputy Minister of Infrastructure.

George Zegarac becomes Deputy Minister of Training, Colleges and Universities. This ministry will now also be responsible for the College of Trades, immigration training programs and the Office of the Fairness Commissioner.

Deputy Ministers Paul Boniferro, Steven Davidson, Sophie Dennis, Greg Meredith, Bruce Rodrigues, Bill Thornton and Matt Torigian will continue in their current roles.


As announced earlier this week, David de Launay informed me in May of his intention to retire from the Ontario Public Service at the end of August. Effective September 1, Bill Thornton will become Deputy Minister of Northern Development and Mines in addition to his role as Deputy Minister of Natural Resources and Forestry.

The changes outlined in this memo are intended to take effect immediately. Later today, the Lieutenant Governor in Council will be presented with an order to temporarily confirm the transfer of statutory and Order in Council responsibilities pending completion of the more comprehensive set of orders that will be developed with your legal branches. My office will share a copy of that order with you later today. We will continue to update you on these changes as they are being implemented, but please contact my office if you have any questions.

I would like to thank Maureen Adamson, Dr. Bob Bell, Alex Bezzina and Paul Evans for their invaluable contributions as part of the deputy minister team. Please join me in wishing them all the very best in their future endeavours.

Please join me in congratulating all of the deputy ministers as they take on these important new roles, as well as welcoming Nancy Kennedy to the deputy minister team.

Original signed by

Steve Orsini

  1. Dean French, Chief of Staff to the Premier

            Jenni Byrne, Principal Secretary to the Premier