Let’s do the Cabinet Shuffle! 
Premier Kathleen Wynne announced the changes to cabinet, which include ten ministers taking on new roles and seven new members.  Eleanor McMahon becomes Minister of Tourism, Culture and Sport, responsible for the Ontario Trillium Foundation

  • Mitzie Hunter becomes Minister of Education
  • Charles Sousa remains Minister of Finance
  • Laura Albanese becomes Minister of Citizenship and Immigration, responsible for volunteerism
  • Brad Duguid becomes Minister of Economic Development and Growth (formerly Economic Development, Employment and Infrastructure), responsible for social enterprise policy
  • Deb Matthews remains Deputy Premier and becomes Minister of Advanced Education and Skills Development (formerly Training, Colleges and Universities), and the first Minister Responsible for Digital Government
  • Liz Sandals becomes President of the Treasury Board, responsible for Transfer Payment Administrative Modernization
  • Indira Naidoo-Harris becomes Associate Minister of Finance responsible for the Ontario Retirement Pension Plan
  • Michael Chan becomes Minister of International Trade
  • Bob Chiarelli becomes Minister of Infrastructure
  • Dr. Eric Hoskins remains Minister of Health and Long-Term Care
  • Glenn Thibeault becomes Minister of Energy
  • Michael Gravelle remains the Minister of Northern Development and Mines
  • Jeff Leal remains Minister of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs.
  • David Orazietti becomes Minister of Community Safety and Correctional Services, responsible for upcoming regulation development under the Police Record Checks Reform Act, 2015;
  • David Zimmer becomes Minister of Indigenous Relations and Reconciliation.
  • Reza Moridi remains Minister of Research, Innovation and Science.
  • Yasir Naqvi remains Attorney General and Government House Leader.
  • Glen Murray remains Minister of the Environment and Climate Change.
  • Michael Coteau becomes Minister of Children and Youth Services and remains Minister Responsible for Anti-Racism.
  • Tracy MacCharles remains Minister Responsible for Women’s Issues and becomes Minister Responsible for Accessibility. 
  • Kevin Flynn remains Minister of Labour.
  • William Mauro becomes Minister of Municipal Affairs.
  • Helena Jaczek remains Minister of Community and Social Services.
  • Dipika Damerla becomes Minister Responsible for Seniors Affairs.
  • Steven Del Duca remains Minister of Transportation.
  • Christopher Ballard becomes Minister of Housing Minister Responsible for the Poverty Reduction Strategy
  • Marie-France Lalonde becomes Minister of Government and Consumer Services, responsible for the work needed to see the proclamation of the Ontario Not-for-Profit Corporations Act, and Minister Responsible for Francophone Affairs.
  • Kathryn McGarry becomes Minister of Natural Resources and Forestry.

Click here for a description of all the changes to the ministries.

Click here for the full list of the Executive Council of Ontario

As the government moves forward on its priorities, policy watchers will be watching the Priorities, Development and Growth Cabinet Committee.  It is charged with setting the government’s overall strategic directions and key policy, communications and intergovernmental priorities.

It is worth paying attention to what some have labelled Wynne’s “inner cabinet,” her Priorities, Delivery, and Growth Committee. The members of this key agenda-setting committee are:

  • Kathleen Wynne (Chair)
    • Deb Matthews
    • Brad Duguid
    • Liz Sandals
    • Charles Sousa
    • Eric Hoskins
    • Mitzie Hunter
    • Steven Del Duca
    • Marie-France Lalonde
    • Glenn Thibeault