Federation of Ontario Public Libraries

Join Us For a Live 60-Minute Presentation

This webinar is a paid sponsorship opportunity. The products, services, and opinions presented herein do not constitute a Choice, ACRL, or ALA endorsement of any kind.
Tuesday,
August 21, 2018

2:00 PM Eastern
1:00 PM Central
12:00 PM Mountain
11:00 AM Pacific

Indigenous Literatures, Social Justice, and the Decolonial Library
The work of Indigenous writers is increasingly influential in and beyond the literary world, from recognition through prominent literary prizes like the Governor General’s Literary Award and the Griffin Prize to major film and theatre adaptations and collaborations, and from participation in resource extraction protest to activism around cultural appropriation and violence against Indigenous women and girls. Yet many librarians remain unsure of how best to engage Indigenous literatures and knowledge in ways that are both robust and respectful. This webinar will reflect on the settler-colonial legacies of libraries in North America while considering a model of the justice-centred “decolonial library” and its significance to Indigenous and settler readers alike.

PRESENTERS
Daniel Heath Justice

Canada Research Chair in Indigenous Literature and Expressive Culture
University of British Columbia

Daniel Heath Justice (Cherokee Nation) holds the Canada Research Chair in Indigenous Literature and Expressive Culture at the University of British Columbia, on the traditional, ancestral, and unceded territories of the Musqueam people. He is widely published as a scholar and creative writer, and his most recent book is Why Indigenous Literatures Matter (Wilfrid Laurier University Press, 2018).

SPONSORED BY

Founded in 1974, Wilfrid Laurier University Press publishes books in the social sciences and humanities, with specializations in indigenous studies, environmental humanities, feminism and women’s studies, life writing, poetry, literary criticism, international politics, sociology, social work, and history. We publish work of scholarly integrity, skillfully edited, designed, produced, and marketed, advancing new developments in scholarly discourse and contributing to education within and beyond the university, reflecting both our local and global communities and cultures through the world of ideas. We publish 25-30 titles a year and have over 700 titles in print.